Select your language

More stars at the Czech Masters - Thomas Pieters and a major winner ...

With less than two weeks to go until the tournament, some very interesting names have appeared on the entry list. In addition to those already confirmed, we can announce that Thomas PIETERS, winner in 2015, plans to come back. The arrival of Padraig HARRINGTON is also under negotiation.

Pieters joins the likes of Danny Willett, Lee Westwood, John Daly and Andrew "Beef" Johnston. Harrington, a two-time Open champion (2007, 2008) and winner of the PGA Championship (2008), is also a strong possibility.

"Pieters' participation is confirmed, his team has informed us that Thomas would like to play here again. We are still negotiating with Harrington, and as he entered the list at the very last moment, we all believe that we can make a deal," said Zdeněk Jehlička, Head of Golf for the Relmost promotion company.

The only European Tour event to be held in the Czech Republic this year will feature all the previous winners. Apart from Pieters, we will see Jamie Donaldson (2014), Paul Peterson (2016) and last year's winner Haydn Porteous.

The Belgian long hitter started his great career here at the Czech Masters in 2015 when he won his first European Tour title. He followed that up with his second win just two weeks later at the KLM Open, and a year later he added his third in Denmark.  He was also one of the rising stars during the 2016 Ryder Cup as a rookie.

Like Pieters, Harrington did not have a good season in the US and failed to qualify for the FedEx Cup play-offs. As a result, he is now interested in playing at Albatross. As Thomas Bjorn's assistant for the Ryder Cup, he will have the chance to see many of the players still vying for the final spots in the European team.

In addition to the players mentioned above, there are a number of other big names on the entry list at the moment, including Thongchai Jaidee, Matteo Manassero, Eddie Pepperell, Renato Paratore, Nicolas Colsaerts, Soren Kjeldsen, Gregory Bourdy, Stephen Gallacher, Oliver Fisher, Marcel Siem, Peter Hanson and Chase Koepka.